This pair of cottages, unique in the Museum, shows one completed and
furnished, the other has been left unfinished inside to expose the
timber-framed structure typical of the period when it was built, 1860.
The timber came from two different sources. Softwood imported from the
Baltic was used for the main structural timbers in the roof, walls and floor
and the weatherboard cladding. For the infill framing the carpenter
used small local hardwood trees, including elm, oak, poplar, ash, beech and
Unit 3C Characteristics and Materials.
There is a lime-burning exhibit outside
these cottages and a demonstration of lime slaking can be arranged.
See also the suggested
activities for this building.